Chatting with your customers
Once the messenger is installed on your website, your team can accept chat requests from the widget.
Each user can decide whether they want to accept chats. by default, all users are offline for chat. To start taking chats, the user first need to Go Online from the user dropdown on the top right navigation bar:
When you're online, the user dropdown will be green:
When a customer initiates a chat, any users that are available for chat receive notification via a chat bar that appears on all pages of the desktop ticketing interface.
To go to a specific chat, click on the minimized chat in the chat bar. Then, from the bottom of the chat interface, click Join Chat.
As long a user has any ongoing chats or there are new incoming chats, a chat bar remains on the top of the desktop ticketing interface. This makes it easy to quickly accept new chats or switch between chats.
The colored dots indicate the state of the chat:
- Red: New incoming chat where customer is still waiting for someone to join.
- Green: A chat you are participating in with no new message from the customer.
- Orange: A chat you are participating in with unread messages from the customer.
The conversation window displays messages between yourself and the customer. In addition, it also provides useful contextual information like what page the customer is viewing or if the customer has minimised the chat window.
From the top of the chat interface, you can add labels while the conversation is going on. These will be automatically added to the ticket that is created once the chat ends.
From the action bar:
- You can minimize the current chat and go back to the ticketing interface.
- Transfer the chat or invite other users to the chat.
- End the chat.
While chatting, you see the same sidebar that you know and love from the ticketing interface. This allows you to see the customer profile, previous communication history and any custom data configured to be retrieved from your internal systems.
A chat stays active until the user ends it. End a chat by clicking End Chat in the action bar.
From the action bar, click the assignee button and select another user. The other user will see an incoming chat which they can join. Once the other user joins the chat, you can leave the chat (i.e. effectively transferring it) or both users can continue chatting with the customer together.
Once the chat ends, it's transcript is emailed to the customer and saved as a ticket. The ticket has the following attributes:
- State: If the chat was ended by the user, the resulting ticket is created with a closed state. If the chat ended because it went unanswered, the resulting ticket will remain open for follow up.
- Assignee: The ticket is assigned to the user that chatted with the customer.
Labels: Any labels added during the chat are also migrated over to the ticket.
Once the chat ends, a transcript is emailed to the customer. The customer can reply to this transcript to follow up with your team.
At the same time, the transcript is saved as a ticket in Enchant. Any follow ups from the customer will show up as replies to this ticket. Your team can also chose to reach out to the customer via this ticket to continue the conversation where it was left off.